Leesburg Welcomes New Director of Electric Department

For Immediate Release – September 28, 2017 Contact: Derek Hudson, Public Information Officer Main: (352) 728-9786 ext. 1121 Cell: (321) 287-6591 Email: derek.hudson@leesburgflorida.gov Leesburg Welcomes New Director of Electric Department LEESBURG, Fla – The City of Leesburg is excited to introduce and welcome Mr. Glenn A. Spurlock as the new Leesburg Electric Director. Mr. Spurlock became Electric Director On September 26, 2017. With more than 30 years of experience in the electric industry, Mr. Spurlock has primary skills in generation, transmission, regulatory and systems design. Mr. Spurlock has worked with Investor Owned Utilities (IOU’s) such as Florida Power Corporation/Progress Energy, and for the past 15 years, he served in various capacities for Seminole Electric Cooperative. Mr. Spurlock is a graduate of the University of South Florida, where he earned a degree in Electrical Engineering. “Glenn brings a wealth of experience and knowledge to our Electric Department. I think Glenn will make positive impacts that benefit our more than 24,000 customers,” said Al Minner City Manager. “He will have some different perspectives, coming from the IOU and Electric Cooperative worlds.” Leesburg’s previous Electric Department Director was Patrick Foster, who recently retired. Leesburg is a progressive city of more than 22,000 residents in northwest Lake County. The city government serves twice as many people with its electric, gas, water, wastewater and fiber-optic public utilities. Leesburg also is a central hub for commerce, attracting 50,000 people to work each weekday. For more information, visit www.leesburgflorida.gov.