Service  fee charge for electronic utility payments begins March 1st read more



The Leesburg Fire Department began in 1875 and has since grown to more than 47 employees. The Department's mission is to protect life and property. The Leesburg Fire Department has four stations to protect more than 20,000 residents as well as commercial, professional and industrial properties spread across 40 square miles in northwest Lake County. A majority of the Fire Department’s personnel are sworn professional firefighters, with the remaining support staff providing administrative, fire prevention services, and public education activities.

The Fire Department provides a multitude of services for the community including:

  • Fire Protection
  • Rescue Services
  • Emergency Medical Services (Advanced Life Support)
  • Fire Inspections
  • Disaster Preparedness
  • Public Education
  • For maps of Station & Hydrant locations

During a typical 24-hour shift there are thirteen (13) line firefighters and one (1) Battalion Chief on constant duty spread among the City’s four (4) fire stations. Each station has a Lieutenant, Engineer (Driver), and one Firefighter. Fire Station 63 (Airport) has one additional apparatus, an Aircraft Rescue Fire Fighting (ARFF) vehicle.

The Leesburg Fire Department is pleased that, effective December 1, 2007, the City of Leesburg’s Public Protection Classification (PPC) was raised for the Insurance Services Office (ISO) Class 4/9 to ISO 2/9.

The City of Leesburg maintains an ISO 2 Public Protection.

Medical transport is provided by Lake Emergency Medical Services (LEMS)